top of page

Way Back Home: Thinking About What Gone Really Means.

Updated: Mar 7, 2019


Lordy. I have made so much fun of “those crazy Elvis fans,” maybe a little less fun of “those crazy MJ fans,” lol, but either way, I’m currently unsettled by the idea that, welp, maybe I am one of “them.” Of course I am referencing my passion for the Purple One. Now, I may be a little off, but I’m not completely gone, I’m NOT paying $10,000+ for purported clumps of his hair that were fished out of his drain.[1](FOR REAL?!?! DA FUQ!?! Ever so much side eye for the MJ “fan” who did that, yeah, I said it, u read it).

But, back to my own crazy…


Like most, I have struggled with the idea that Prince Rogers Nelson no longer performs Here on Earth. I have held onto the hope that it was all a farce for most of this past nearly three years. Yes, really. I have given thought to the idea that maybe he’s on some Vanilla Sky-type trip(LOVE the Penelope Cruz/Tom Cruise version of the film) …is this the way…home? I mean, didn’t Prince say his music would tell us more about him than he would?


When life's a stage, in this brand new age How do we engage? Bullying just for fun No wonder there's so many guns Maybe we're better off in space

Mr. Nelson, Mr. Nelson, can you hear my voice? Sir, we know you're a little bit groggy And you're probably going to find it hard to speak But don't try to talk or process too much now We just want to let you know that the medication you were given Has put you in a suspended animation for quite some time Well, in fact, about 45 years[2]


Art Official Age is one of those albums where every single song is a jam. Love it. His lyrical genius and metaphor-manipulation-magic cannot be ignored. I get stuck on certain songs, listen on repeat, can’t get them out of my head from time to time. Currently, it’s The Breakdown and Way Back Home.


In a December 2015 Ebony Magazine article (which was inexplicably removed) Prince said the following on the issue of releasing the previously-recorded full-blown albums with bands like The Time and The Revolution in the vaults:


EBONY MAG: Do you want this to happen when you’re gone? PRINCE: No, I don’t think about gone. I just think about in the future when I don’t want to speak in real time.[3]

He had a way with words. No doubt. Quite often when questioned, he would state the meaning of a particular phrase was spiritual, though he knew we all heard SEX. Then again, he’d say sexuality and spirituality are connected. Only Prince, sigh.


Do I think he “went home” like some sort of Men In Black character who was walking amongst us Earthlings in a bad human suit? Nah. He was waaayyyy to fine for that. Those MIB aliens always have a certain look about them, not inviting, IJS, but hold that thought.


Seriously, what if he just decided he no longer wanted to speak in real time … literally? Shed one life for another. Continued to live quietly as someone else, somewhere he couldn’t be contacted, like a private island or something?


Am I reaching? Maybe, but to this day, I still have an issue with the idea that he had no will. It just “feels” wrong based on patterns of behavior, statements, lyrics, etc. With all that he did, the lives he changed, the infinite ability he displayed in reinventing himself, is it impossible? He never seemed to limit himself to what the rest of the world thought possible or what was “realistic.” Why start now? Then again, he did do things that we didn’t always agree with, and oftentimes inexplicably. Still, if anyone could pull it off, it would be him. C’mon. We’ve all had that thought, even if only for a moment, yes?


Now, let’s revisit my earlier statement about how gorgeous he was. It has crossed by mind that he was ill and knew more than he ever told, that he was deteriorating, and wished to do so away from the public eye. That’s part of what I hear listening to The Breakdown when he says, “I don’t want to go…” Ugh. [Tears go here]. But I have given it serious thought, somebody that good-looking for so many decades feeling not so hot may not have taken the change well.


Personally, I think he got better with time, just a handsome, cool, mature brother, but am aware he had concerns as relayed by Maya Washington regarding the photo used for the cover of Art Official Age.[4] Reading that he wanted that series of photos destroyed, I felt pained and also, sadness for him. I can imagine his interactions with women changed. I can imagine he was bored, or lonely, or myriad other things.


I can imagine at some point, one has to let go of hope. But didn’t Prince say “Everything You Think Is True?” What If?


What if half of the things ever said,

turned out 2 b a lie?

How will you know the truth?[5]


The Truth: Even after all this time if I found out he just decided 2 duck out on us & rest up on his lil’ private island, I wouldn’t even b mad. Couldn’t blame him. Look around. I‘d just wanna know if he needed some company :)


Anywho, thanks for indulging me, Fam.


Much Love 2 u,


Violet

@violetesq

@violetbinteractive

Always on Our Minds ~ Forever in Our Hearts



 

[1] Prince’s Friend, YouTube Video dated 1/26/2019, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtAI6z3qHHw


[2] Prince Rogers Nelson, Clouds, Art Official Age, NPG Records 2014 (voice of Lianne La Havas)




[3] Prince Hits N Runs N Talks! – Ebony Interview, December 22, 2015 [emphasis added](article removed).


[4] Hahn & Tiebert, The Rise of PRINCE, Mad Cat Press (2017).




[5] Prince Rogers Nelson, The Truth, The Truth, NPG Records 1998.



120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

FIVE

bottom of page